Favorite Authors

I love to read & I love to teach reading. I have a few favorite authors, which I would like to share below. (Both children and adult authors) Over the weekend, I finished Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult. The week before I finished House Rules (2 Book Reviews coming soon). Her books are so thought provoking & challenge your values and beliefs. It is interesting to me how sometimes the books I am reading to my students mirror what I am reading at home or vice versa. We are reading Crash by Jerry Spinnelli as part of our Social Issues Book Club unit. This is typically taught in 5th grade, but all kids face Social Issues on some level. I am so glad I chose to do this unit rather than mysteries (I didn’t have enought upper level books). Now that I know how well it goes and how effective it is on my student’s conversations and thinking, we will be doing Book Clubs sooner next year & doing various genres.

Jodi Picoult’s books do the same thing for adults I think. Her plots, twists, turns, and character development all push your thinking beyond anywhere you thought you could go. One thing I love most about her books is that it’s not necessarily a “happy ending.” The stories all feel complete as an ending should make the reader feel, but everything isn’t perfect. The endings are appropriate to the plot and I can never predict how the book will end.

Ryan was helping me figure out my next read last night. He was on Amazon looking at Jodi Picoult’s books. I think he likes to get her books for me because they are so long and last more than 3 days. He feels like he is getting his money’s worth! :):) This led me to check out her website. She is so inspiring! I love how her website is so personal! Sometimes when you go to author’s websites, their more generic and business oriented. I like how she has pictures up & writes on the site also.

I really like getting hooked on one author and reading all of their books. I highly recommend this in the classroom as well because you and your students begin to notice patterns in the author’s work, which will aid in Writer’s Workshop & helps you teach better. Also, there are a lot of patterns in characters and setting which require deep thinking. This is why I have a select few books that I HAVE to read my students each year because I know how well I can teach from them. Plus, they are so good that I never get bored and you ALWAYS notice something new or in a different way:)

My favorite children’s authors:
-J.K.Rowling
-Kate DiCamillo
-Jerry Spinnelli
-Andrew Clements

Favorite Children’s Books:

Harry Potter!!!!
The Tiger Rising by Kate DiCamillo
Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo
Loser by Jerry Spinnelli
Crash by Jerry Spinnelli

Leave a comment